ICE DIVING

In winter, Lake Weissensee is home to Europe’s largest prepared and constantly frozen natural ice surface, meaning it is practically made for ice diving, one of the most exciting and most adventurous diving disciplines.

 

The ice regularly grows to a thickness of 40 cm and more. The water under the ice is crystal clear and offers incredible visibility of up to 30 meters, as the suspended particles sink due to the closed ice cover. The sun that shines through the ice refracts and creates fascinating optical phenomena in the clear water. With a little bit of luck, you will even encounter a clear sheet of ice - so you can watch ice skaters and people strolling overhead.

 

If you want to learn a bit more about ice diving, get inspired by the following article, video and podcast about our ice diving weekends. 

Even for non-divers a trip to the snowy mountains of Carinthia is worth it! You can use the time perfectly for ice skating on the 22 km long skating rink or skiing in the nearby skiing region Goldeck!!! Or you can enjoy our hospitality all day at the diving center! We are looking forward to seeing you!

EISTAUCHEN

Der Weissensee bietet im Winter die größte präparierte und beständig zugefrorene Natureisfläche Europas und ist somit prädestiniert zum Eistauchen, eine der spannendsten und abenteuerlichsten Möglichkeiten im Tauchsport.

 

Das Eis wächst regelmäßig zu einer Stärke von 40cm und mehr heran. Das Wasser unter dem Eis ist glasklar und bietet unglaubliche Sichtweiten von bis zu 30 Metern, da die Schwebeteilchen aufgrund der geschlossenen Eisdecke absinken. Die durch die Eisdecke scheinende Sonne bricht sich im Eis und zaubert faszinierende Lichteffekte ins klare Wasser. Mit etwas Glück erwartet Dich Spiegeleis und Du kannst durch die Eisdecke Eisläufer und Spaziergänger beobachten.

 

Wer sich noch ein bisschen einlesen und inspirieren lassen möchte, findet hier einen nett geschriebenen Artikel über das Eistauchen und ein Video über eines unserer Eistauchwochenenden:

 

Auch für Nichttaucher lohnt sich ein Ausflug in die verschneiten Berge Kärntens! Du kannst die Zeit bestens zum Eislaufen auf der 22 km langen Eislaufbahn oder auf Skiern im nahe gelegenen Goldeck nutzen!! Oder Du genießt unsere Gastfreundschaft den ganzen Tag an der Basis! Wir freuen uns auf Dich!

​© 2018 by Diving Weissensee